Ava DuVernay
ManOfTheCenturyMovie Film The Academy boasts a new board of directors

The Academy boasts a new board of directors

Ava DuVernay

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences today announced its newly elected board of directors. The governors, who set the Academy’s strategic vision and oversee the financial health of the organization, will take office at the first scheduled board meeting of the new term.

Branch Directors member Ava DuVernay returned to the Academy’s 55-member Board of Governors 2023-2024. So is producer Lynette Howell Taylor. Incumbents stay on, while those who have served their three-year term pass, to be replaced by someone else (after a two-year hiatus, they can rerun for a governorship post). And, after three mandates, such as those served by Charles Bernstein and Jon Bloom, they are finally fired.

The 18 branches of the Academy are each represented by three governors, with the exception of the newly established Manufacturing and Technology branch, which is represented by a single governor. As a result of these elections, the board now comprises 53% women and 25% from an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

Incumbent governors re-elected to the Council:

Rob Bredow, visual effects department
Ava DuVernay, branch managers
Linda Flowers, hair and makeup branch
Lynette Howell Taylor, Producers Branch
Stephen Rivkin, Film Publishers Section
Debra Zane, branch of casting directors

Elected to the Council for the first time:

Wendy Aylsworth, Manufacturing and Technology Division
David I. Dinerstein, Marketing and Public Relations Department
Richard Gibbs, musical branch
Jinko Gotoh, animation short and feature film branch
Kalina Ivanov, stage design department
Simon Kilmurry, documentary section
Hannah Minghella, executive branch
Daniel Orlandi, Costume Section
Lou Diamond Phillips, actors branch
Dana Stevens, writer section
Mark P. Stoeckinger, Sound Branch

Returning to the Council after a break:

Ellen Kuras, cinematographer branch

They will be joined by returning governors Pam Abdy, Bonnie Arnold, Lesley Barber, Dion Beebe, Howard Berger, Susanne Bier, Jason Blum, Gary C. Bourgeois, Brooke Breton, Paul Cameron, Ruth E. Carter, Eduardo Castro, Megan Colligan, Bill Corso, Paul Debevec, Peter Devlin, Tom Duffield, Charles Fox, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Donna Gigliotti, Chris Hegedus, Richard Hicks, Laura C. Kim, Marlee Matlin, Missy Parker, Jason Reitman, Nancy Richardson, Howard A. Rodman , Eric Roth, Terilyn A. Shropshire, Kim Taylor-Coleman, Jennifer Todd, Jean Tsien, Marlon West, Rita Wilson and Janet Yang.

For current 2022-2023 Academy Governors, please click Here.

Those who were eligible to run again (and won):
Casting directors – Debra Zane
Directors – Ava DuVernay
Film Editors – Stephen Rivkin
Makeup artists and hair stylists – Linda Flowers
Producers: Lynette Howell Taylor
Visual Effects – Rob Bredow

term out:
Actors – Whoopi Goldberg
Cinematographer – Mandy Walker
Costume Designers – Isis Mussenden
Documentary – Kate Amend
Executives – David Linde
Marketing and Public Relations – Christina Kounelias
Music – Charles Bernstein
Production Design – Wynn Thomas
SFFA – Jon Bloom
Sound – Teri Dorman
Writers – Larry Karaszewski

Related Post