Succession Season 4 Episode 6 Kendall Roman
ManOfTheCenturyMovie Awards Emmy Predictions 2023: Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Emmy Predictions 2023: Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Succession Season 4 Episode 6 Kendall Roman

We’ll be updating this article throughout the season, along with all of our predictions, so be sure to keep checking IndieWire for the latest news from the 2023 Emmy race. Nomination voting will run June 15-26, with nominees official at the Emmys announced Wednesday, July 12. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be presented on two consecutive nights on Saturday, September 9 and Sunday, September 10, with a curated presentation of the ceremonies airing on FXX at a later date. Finally, the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, September 18 and will air live on FOX at 8pm ET / 5pm PT.

See our previous thoughts on what to expect at the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards here.

The state of the breed

Not to speak ill of the dead, but Logan Roy hasn’t exuded the energy of the lead character this year, so it’s quite a surprise to see “Succession” star Brian Cox still up for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series. The veteran actor has already lost the award twice before, once to Jeremy Strong for playing his TV son Kendall Roy.

Add in Kieran Culkin, who was dropped from the Supporting Actor in a Drama Series category, and HBO has a trio of “Succession” actors likely to receive a nomination in this category for their work on the show’s acclaimed final season, but the way the last stretch of episodes has played out, Strong still looks like the No. 1 guy at the Emmys.

However, contenders from other shows don’t get swept away so easily. There’s a faction at the TV Academy that probably believes “Better Call Saul” star Bob Odenkirk is long overdue for an Emmy win, having been nominated for her portrayal of Saul Goodman five times already. This year is his last chance, so the win would make a big impact, serving as the TV Academy’s final farewell to the “Breaking Bad” universe it has awarded 16 times over the years.

Aside from those actors, who were all nominated last year for the same portrayal of character, the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series is likely to include some performers who have captured the zeitgeist this year, like the star of “The Last of Us” Pedro Pascal or “1923” star Harrison Ford.

With another role in the Apple TV+ series ‘Shrinking’ and a new ‘Indiana Jones’ premiering at the 2023 Cannes Film Festival, Ford is particularly well placed to be the first actor in the ‘Yellowstone’ universe to finally score an Emmy .

Current contenders (in alphabetical order):
Jacob Anderson, “Interview with the Vampire” (AMC)
Nicco Annan, “P-Valley” (Starz)
Jeff Bridges, “The Old Man” (FX)
Paddy Considine, “House of the Dragon” (HBO)
Brian Cox, “Succession” (HBO)
Bryan Cranston, “Your Honor” (Showtime)
Kieran Culkin, “Succession” (HBO)
Harrison Ford, “1923” (Paramount+)
Diego Luna, “Andor” (Disney+)
Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul” (AMC)
Gary Oldman, “Slow Horses” Apple TV+
Pedro Pascal, “The Last of Us” (HBO)
Matthew Rhys, “Perry Mason” (HBO)
Patrick Stewart, “Star Trek: Picard” (Paramount+)
Jeremy Strong, “Succession” (HBO)

More forecasts for the Drama category:
Outstanding Drama Series
Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

To see IndieWire’s full set of predictions for the 75th Emmy Awards click here.

Last year’s winner: Lee Jung-jae, “Squid Game”
Still eligible: NO.
Hot Series: Last year continued a streak spanning over a decade, where no one has won this award for consecutive seasons of their series. The latest to do so was “Breaking Bad” star Bryan Cranston in 2008-2010. There’s a chance for Dominic West to win and start a streak for the same role as Josh O’Connor, who won this Emmy in 2021 for playing a young Prince Charles in ‘The Crown.’ Otherwise, the only person in contention for a repeat win is “Succession” star Jeremy Strong, who won in 2020, but didn’t win last year.
Notable ineligible series: Adam Scott, “Severance” (Season 2 was ineligible); Jason Bateman, “Ozark” (finished); Sterling K. Brown, “This is Us” (finished)

Related Post